• Some news!

    Here we are, well into 2014, year of the horse. The Chinese horoscope promises prosperity both in travel and in general success – and I must admit, we’re off to a great start!

    I’m starting a northern and western Canadian tour (Réseau des grands espaces) on which the band and I will be in the « Doghouse » (familiar territory), a giant snow castle and a few more hotspots in the prairies. After having survived this crazy cold winter, I plan on bringing a radiant and warm summer back home with me; we deserve it!@!#?!!

    This spring, I will be teaching weekly songwriting classes with le 100 Nons (at Université Saint-Boniface), and starting a new album production project (still top secret: actually, this message will self-destruct in 5 seconds).
    I’ll be mostly wearing my artistic director/producer hat in the next while – I feel very fortunate to be able to work with talented and inspiring people from across this vast land, a circle that will soon be expanding on the international stage!

    I wish you a wonderful year, hoping that we cross paths very soon. Off to the races!

    Peace,

    Daniel

  • New song in the works

    Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

    A new year, new challenges, and the release of a brand new song to come…

    I’ve had the chance to work with long-time collaborator Norman Dugas to drum up a beautiful lil’ song that will be officially released in six weeks – giving us time to do final tweaks on the video. Here’s a sneak peek of the song to come!

    All the best in 2013, and I hope to see you soon!

    Daniel xo

  • Fall forward?!

    I’ve been blessed with two wonderful awards lately: the Edith Butler 2012 prize from the Société professionnelle des auteurs et compositeurs du Québec (SPACQ), which I received at a brunch-gala in Montréal on September 28th. The who’s who of the Québec scene was there, no freedom toast in site though – it was an honour to be amongst such talented company! A few days later in Regina (the town where the jokes about the town that rhymes with fun abound), HYPERBOLE, my latest album, received the award for Francophone Album of the Year at the 2012 Western Canadian Music Awards. A true jet setter weekend fuelled by espresso and good friends!

    Coming down back to earth, I’m looking forward to some upcoming dates in the Maritimes in mid-November in Charlottetown, Moncton and Kedgwick (where I hope to douse myself in stolen maple syrup at a black market price).

    In other news, we’re releasing the video and single for “Popsicle” in English! As of today, see for yourselves what caused a mild scandal in my neighbourhood – me in a full body leotard. The single is also available on iTunes and Bandcamp.

    Leaves are falling, snow is lurking around the corner, but we are moving forward in the excitement of upcoming shows and overseas travel in the new year – stay tuned!

    Daniel xo

NOW AVAILABLE!

An album to make you dance, an album to make you think… Daniel ROA moves us to take a fresh look at the world with all its wretchedness and beauty, and it is in this search for lightness that he invites us to join him.  With this fall’s release of his newest album, Hyperbole, Daniel ROA promises to take us away with his groove, his energy, his ubiquitous joy, and, as always, a wink and a gun. More >

• Des nouvelles!

    Nous voici en 2014, l’année du cheval. L’horoscope chinois promet la prospérité autant dans le domaine du voyage que dans le succès en général – je dois admettre que c’est bien parti!

    J’entame une tournée dans le Nord et l’Ouest canadien (Réseau des grands espaces), où on pourra m’entendre avec le band dans un « Doghouse » (un territoire bien familier), un château de neige, et à quelques autres hotspots dans les plaines. Après avoir survécu un hiver cruel et glacial, je compte ramener avec moi un été resplendissant; on le mérite!$#@?!!

    J’animerai, ce printemps, des ateliers hebdomadaires en écriture et composition de chanson pour le 100 Nons (à l’Université de Saint-Boniface), tout en entamant un projet de réalisation d’album (encore top secret : d’ailleurs, ce message va s’autodétruire dans 5 secondes).

    C’est le chapeau de directeur artistique/producteur/réalisateur que je porte de plus en plus – je me compte très chanceux de pouvoir travailler avec des gens talentueux de partout au pays, un cercle qui va bientôt s’élargir d’avantage à l’international!

    Je vous souhaite une superbe année, en espérant que nos chemins se croisent bientôt. Allez, au galop, au boulot!

    A+

    Daniel

  • Nouvelle chanson à venir

    Joyeuse Saint-Valentin!!!

    Nouvelle année, nouveaux défis, et le lancement d’une nouvelle chanson à venir…

    J’ai travaillé encore une fois avec le talentueux Norman Dugas pour vous préparer une petite perle d’amour qu’on lancera officiellement dans environs six semaines, le temps de mettre les touches finales au vidéoclip. Voici un p’tit aperçu de la chanson à venir!

    Bonne chance dans tous vos projets pour 2013, et au plaisir de vous revoir!

    Daniel xo

  • Quel automne!

    Je suis absolument choyé d’avoir reçu deux prix récemment: Le prix Édith Butler 2012 de la Société professionnelle des auteurs et compositeurs du Québec (SPACQ), décerné lors d’un gala-brunch à Montréal le 28 septembre dernier. Le who’s who de la scène québécoise y étaient, napperon sur cuisse – quel plaisir d’être invité parmi cette belle communauté d’artistes! Quelque jours plus tard, c’est à Régina que mon disque HYPERBOLE a raflé le prix de l’Album francophone de l’année au Western Canadian Music Awards 2012. Une fin de semaine de jet setter qui roulait au carburant d’espresso et de bons amis.

    En descendant tranquillement sur terre, je constate qu’une belle brochette de spectacles nous attendent en Acadie à la mi-novembre à Charlottetown, Moncton et Kedgwick (où je prévois me gaver de syrop d’érable volé).

    Vidéoclip Popsicle (version anglaise): visionnez à partir d’aujourd’hui ce qui a fait tourner les têtes du voisinage – Daniel en leotard d’une pièce (ahh, la vie d’artiste!). Le version audio de la chanson est également disponible sur iTunes et sur Bandcamp.

    Les feuilles tombent, la neige menace, mais on avance avec tous ces beaux plans de spectacles et des voyages outre-mer dans la nouvelle année – à suivre!

    Daniel xo

MAINTENANT DISPONIBLE!

Un album qui fait danser, un album qui fait penser… Daniel ROA fait refléter le monde pour qu’on le découvre à nouveau, et c’est dans un esprit ludique qu’il nous invite à le joindre. Avec son tout nouvel album, Hyperbole, Daniel ROA promet de nous emporter avec son groove, son énergie, sa joie omniprésente et, comme toujours, le clin d’oeil. Plus >